TL;DR
Get art and craft supplies delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Washington University in St. Louis is accepting applications to its two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art program for students entering in fall 2027. The deadline is Jan. 10, 2027, and applications are free through Dec. 14; the announcement describes facilities, study opportunities and exhibitions available to students.
Washington University in St. Louis is accepting applications for fall 2027 entry to its two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art program. The application deadline is Jan. 10, 2027, and the university says applicants can apply free through Dec. 14, giving prospective artists a limited period to submit without an application fee.
The program, offered through WashU’s Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, is presented as open to artists working across varied forms and approaches. The school says students may pursue work ranging from historical techniques and emerging media to scholarly research and social practice. The degree takes two years and requires students to be in residence.
Facilities listed by the school include a digital fabrication lab, a time-based media art studio, printmaking and book facilities, wood and metal shops, and textile studios. The curriculum includes opportunities to develop work across disciplines, and the school says students prepare for several exhibitions during the program, ending with a thesis exhibition at the Kemper Art Museum.
Other opportunities named in the announcement include work through the Office for Socially Engaged Practice, a Counterpublic triennial fellowship and Berlin Sommerakademie. WashU also describes visiting-artist workshops, studio visits and lectures. The listed visitors for this year include Wafaa Bilal, Chloë Bass, Carolina Caycedo and Juan William Chávez. Those offerings are program information, not a guarantee that every opportunity will be available to each incoming student.
A Two-Year Route Across Media
The announcement matters to artists weighing graduate study because it sets out both the application timetable and the range of facilities and activities the school says it offers. Applicants have until Jan. 10, 2027, to apply, while the fee-free period ends earlier, on Dec. 14. Those dates give prospective students concrete milestones as they compare programs and prepare application materials.
The program’s stated focus spans studio practice, research and socially engaged work rather than a single medium. Its mix of specialized studios and exhibition opportunities could be relevant to applicants who want to work across material and conceptual approaches. The announcement does not provide admissions criteria, cohort size or information on financial aid, so applicants will need to consult the school for details beyond the program overview.
WashU also points to potential opportunities after graduation, including eligibility for residencies at Cité internationale des arts in Paris, the $25,000 Stone & DeGuire Contemporary Art Award and a post-MFA studio fellowship. Eligibility does not establish that every graduate will receive an award, residency or fellowship; the announcement does not specify selection procedures or the number of placements.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Program Features and Opportunities
The program is based at WashU, a research university in St. Louis, and is described by the school as a close-knit community of artists and researchers. Its core faculty list includes chair Tiffany Calvert, along with Jamie Adams, Josh Azzarella, Heather Bennett, Lisa Bulawsky, Joe deVera, Amy Hauft, Meghan Kirkwood, Arny Nadler, Patricia Olynyk, Jack Risley, Cheryl Wassenaar and Monika Weiss.
The announcement identifies several well-known alumni, including Kahlil Robert Irving, Lavar Munroe, Ebony G. Patterson, Carlie Trosclair and Cayce Zavaglia. Alumni examples offer context about people who have completed the program, but do not establish typical career outcomes. The source report is an announcement sponsored by Washington University; its descriptions of program resources and opportunities are attributable to the school.
“The two-year, fully residential program supports diverse creativity — from historical techniques and emerging media to scholarly research and social practice.”
— Washington University in St. Louis, in the program announcement
printmaking and book arts supplies
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Admissions Details Still Unreported
The announcement does not state the number of places available, admissions requirements, portfolio specifications, review schedule, tuition, funding or financial-aid options. It also does not explain whether the fee-free offer applies to every applicant or describe any conditions. Applicants should check the Sam Fox School’s official admissions information before relying on details not included in the announcement.
It is also unclear how many students will be able to take part in the named fellowships, residencies or post-MFA opportunities, or what eligibility and selection rules apply. The school lists these as opportunities but provides no participation figures or outcomes in the supplied material.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Application Dates and Next Steps
Prospective students can apply for the fall 2027 cohort by Jan. 10, 2027. The announced fee-free application period runs through Dec. 14. The source directs applicants to the Sam Fox School website for program information and application details. No admissions decision date or further application milestones were provided in the announcement.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
When is the deadline to apply to WashU’s MFA in Visual Art?
The stated deadline for fall 2027 entry is Jan. 10, 2027.
When can applicants apply without a fee?
The announcement says applications are free through Dec. 14. It does not provide further details about the terms of the offer.
How long is the MFA program?
WashU describes it as a two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art program.
What kinds of art practice does the program support?
The school says the program supports work involving historical techniques, emerging media, scholarly research and social practice.
Does the announcement include admissions or funding requirements?
No. The supplied announcement does not specify portfolio requirements, admissions criteria, tuition or financial aid. Applicants should consult the Sam Fox School’s official information for those details.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
